Skip to content

Down but not out: AKA rethinking the challenge.

December 10, 2013

It’s easy to have faith in yourself and have discipline when you’re a winner, What you got to have is faith and discipline when you’re not -Vince Lombardi

So I’ve been thinking through the 100, 100 mile bike rides challenge. I’ve had a number of people tell me they don’t think I can do it. This has had a few impacts:

1) Pissed me off

2) Made me doubt myself

3) Consider if I can actually do it.

After a bit of soul searching, consideration and being honest with myself the answer is “probably not.” I’ve been pretty cross with myself for a while with this. I’m actually quite angry at myself still, I hate having my life defined by others around me, people telling me i’m not good enough, that I can’t do something. It always puts a great big chip on my shoulder and makes me determined to go out and prove people wrong. But at the same time doing an average of 2 100 mile bike rides a week is a big commitment and given what’s going on this year probably to big an ask.

That being said, as i’m so fed up of people doubting me or my desire to get it done, i’m still setting a f*** off hard challenge. I’m still riding  10 000 miles the equivalent distance of the previous challenge.  However I can be out on the bike and only do 60 miles if that’s all I feel I can do, I can call it a day and head home. I’ll still need to get some serious miles in, but that’s the point. Its a challenge to test myself. And somehow, some way I will find a way to do it. So that said I’ve got 21 days till the 1st of January to prepare, so its time to get serious.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

