Skip to content

Challenge Accepted: 100, 100 Mile Bike Rides

November 19, 2013

“I want to be challenged I want to work and I want to feel that I am not being held back that there is something in front of me something more inspiring than… just eating breakfast you know”  
―    Sofia Vassilieva

So I’ve been thinking for a while now that I’ve been a bit meh about things, specifically fitness. A few years ago I started working harder than I have worked before in my life and made a massive effort to get fit and went on to cycle from Land’s End to John O’Groats and then completed 25 hours of Rugby. I felt very proud of myself after and in my head it was going to be the start of things to come I would keep getting fitter, I would kept working hard and push myself.

But after the challenge was over, about a week after, the slump hit. I got tired, I felt sore, I realized how much it had taken out of me. I did a 100 mile bike ride and it was pure hell I got no enjoyment out of it. I never really recovered from that. The challenge was over. Sure i’m fitter than when I started and I still go out on my bike, play rugby and work hard. But I’ve not kicked on in the way I imagined I would. I know I have more in me.

This realization has made me know I am ready to do more. I feel I work best when I have a challenge in front of me or a goal to strive to. Also its just been my dad’s birthday and as usual round this time of year I miss him more than I normally do if that’s possible. I also want to do more to thank Winston’s Wish for the help in getting through the pain and anguish of that horrible ordeal. So in the midst of all this going through my mind I needed to come up with a new challenge.

BUT, it had to be a realistic one. Next year is going to be a bit busy what with a wedding to organize and plan, and thousands of other things. So I decided first that it needed to be something I could do in small chucks and wouldn’t mean a big sacrifice for me and Em, in that I won’t be away from home for long periods of time. Its still going to hurt like hell and put me through the ringer. So from that I decided to come up with the idea. Then the next thing to do was to get Green’s blessing and support. As she was awesome I now have that. So now that’s all sad and done the challenge I have set myself is:

To ride 100 bike rides that exceed 100 miles in one calendar year.

So from the 1st January that’s what I will be doing. All the money I raise from it will go to Winston’s Wish. Now I know I can ride 100 miles, I’ve done it 5 or 6 times. But to do it that many times is going to be a real ball ache. It will mean getting out on my bike when I don’t really want to for longer than I would like to.

The measure will be my bike computer and strava. The rides can be anywhere and everywhere so long as they exceed 100 miles. So will be ones I plan, others official sportive type rides.

I will formulate the details in my head fully over the coming weeks, with the aim to be to launch the effort with 100 Miler around Gloucester on 1st January 2014. Watch this space as I will start to put more information up in the coming weeks.

In the meantime I need to get off my fat arse and out on my bike, I’ve got some training to do. Truth be told, I don’t know if I can do this or not, but I wanted a challenged, I’ve not got a challenge and I will give it a damn good go in trying to do it.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

