Skip to content

Getting back on the bike

February 26, 2013

So I’ve just had a long weekend off of work and its been much needed. It’s been pretty hardcore at work lately and its been kicking my arse!

It was nice to have some time with Em and yesterday we went over the bridge and had a day out in Wales. We ended up in Tintern, which some of you may remember was part of my route on LEJOG. It was great to share some of the memories with Em as we drove into the stunning Wye valley and took me back to the bike ride. Now i’ve had a bit of a tough time of it lately. I’ve been finding work has been kicking my as and leaving me feeling knackered and lacking motivation. And driving some of the route reminded me of somethings.

When I was on that bike, yes it was tough but I was out there trying and putting it in. At the moment I’m not doing that. I’ve not taken that accomplishment and moved on, not built on it. I keep talking about what i’m going to do but i’ve not yet got off my arse and done it. Yesterday was a timely reminder of what I can do when I get off my arse and put my mind to something. I know there were people who didn’t think I could do that bike ride, that I’d never cycle a 100 miles. But I did. I lost the weight, I got myself fit, I plugged away, because I believed. Its time to get that back.

So i’ve signed up for a bike ride again, i’ve got the cherrypickers game to look forward too. I’m  going to start cycling to work, I’m going to attack work with new vigour, I’m going to get to where I want to be. Because I’m being optimistic and once again I believe, so don’t you dare tell me I can’t!

It’s the repetition of affirmations that leads to belief. And once that belief becomes a deep conviction, things begin to happen.
Muhammad Ali

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

