Skip to content

Defeat and how to deal with it…

February 26, 2013

“Winning is great, sure, but if you are really going to do something in life, the secret is learning how to lose. Nobody goes undefeated all the time. If you can pick up after a crushing defeat, and go on to win again, you are going to be a champion someday.”

That’s right today you get not one but two updates!

So at the weekend, we had a game of rugby. We were sloppy, we lack hunger, we lacked dog, belief and comittment. We lost. This lead to a weekend of me being grumpy and miserable. Why because I fucking hate losing. But most of all because I didn’t feel like I had given everything I could, I hadn’t put it all out there. So that game will forever as a what if? What if we had gone that little bit harder? what if I had ran that little bit faster? What if I had put more effort in to make that tackle? If there is one thing I hate more than losing its what ifs.

Now to loads of people this will seem an overreaction, its just a sport, a hobby. But its more than that to me. I captain the side because I love doing it, because I want to succedd. I take it as seriously as if I was captain of Gloucester. I love the lads I play rugby with and know we can be a bloody good side. So I expect us to put it in. As captain I didn’t and if I don’t how can I expect the lads too?

But this doesn’t have to be a bad thing, you remember the defeats more than the wins,the hurt is a positive. If you channel it, learn from your mistakes, right them and come out fighting a defeat is a good thing. And that’s what we are going to do.

We have 4 Games left this season. One against a team we didn’t perform against, another against our closest rivals and one against the team that is running away with our league and yet to lose. We are going to be tested. I love being tested; its what life is all about.

So I cannot wait to get training tonight put some of that pain behind me and get ready for the next game. Because the joy of sport is the next game always comes along and defeat soon becomes victory if you put the effort it.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

