Skip to content

When Saturday comes

April 16, 2012

So this saturday i’m playing at Kingsholm… i’m not sure i’ve mentioned that!

It’s something i’ve dreamed off for as long as I can remember. When I was a kid (oh ok then even sometimes i still do!) i dreamed of being brought off the bench to score the match winning try at Kingsholm in the last minute to beat Bath. As I jog back to the halfway line I’d bask in the adulation of the crowd as a new local hero was born. Now I’m under no illusions this was never going to happen. I’m simply not a talented enough rugby play to ever have fulfilled this dream. But that never stops me wishing i was. Now I have a career and i’d like to think i’m pretty good at what I do. But I don’t love it, Rugby has always been my biggest passion. I’d love to have been able to have done it as a career.

So saturday is such a gift, to get to grace a pitch i’ve looked at with envy always hoping for the opportunity to run out onto it. To lead a side in a game against some of my heroes is the icing on the cake. It’s as close as I will ever get to wearing a Gloucester shirt and representing my home town. I’m still not sure I really appreciate that its going to happen and I am waiting for a spanner to be thrown into the works, stopping it from happening.

So as each day ticks by it becomes more real to me.

The best of it all, is that all money raised will go to Winstons Wish, which is a charity very dear to me, as you all know. So I am running out with some mates, against my heroes, at a place i’ve dreamed of playing at, raising money for charity. Sometimes life can be awesome.

 

 

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

