Skip to content

Dreams can come true; The next fundraising event

January 5, 2012

When I was a kid there was a number of things I want to be. I wanted to be Indiana Jones, defeating and outwitting the Nazis, telling people things belonged in a Museum and getting the girl (well maybe that bit came a bit later!)

Most of all I wanted to be a rugby player, but not just any Rugby player, a Gloucester rugby player. I dreamed of donning the Cherry and White shirt, and playing in front of the tribal crowd of Kingsholm. My dad took me every game and I was hooked, its stayed with me forever. Since then I’ve dreamt of running out at Kingsholm. Sadly I’ll never be good enough to play for Gloucester, but it now looks like I am going to get the opportunity to do the next best thing; Play at Kingsholm against a bunch of my old heroes.

Yes this year sees Carnage IV: Shedweb Lions v The Cherrypickers. It takes place on the 21st April immediately following the Gloucester Rugby v Sale Sharks game. This year however it will be at Kingsholm, for me the field of dreams. I cannot put into words how excited I am at the prospect. It will be the greatest moment of my life sports wise and it cannot come soon enough! I am absolutely buzzing!

The event will raise money for Winstons Wish but also GRFPA (this is a fund set up for former players who have difficulties with health, injuries etc.)

So there you have it the 3 big fundraisers are now all in place and now it’s time to get the heads down, get organised, raise money and do it!

This week has been a mad one, with lots going on and in a positive way! I’ll detail more in the next update, but the fundraising is shaping up nicely and I have two interviews next week! I’m so nervous but excited at the opportunities, I just need to go and give a good account of myself.

I’ve been out on the bike a decent amount too, even if the ride yesterday did nearly kill me!

Before that though, it’ll be heads down prepping and on Saturday, getting a W on the board for Dowty RFC against Widden. It’ll be tough but I know we can do it…

Oh and before I go I have two messages for some close mates:

Get well soon Jules, you’re an inspiration to so many of us, you have no idea how lazy you make me feel with your hardwork and dedication. If anyone can defy the odds its you. x

And congratulations to Ed and Nat on the birth of their gorgeous daughter. Luckily for Ed it looks like she didn’t get any of his looks 😉

Have a great weekend all!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

