Skip to content

Update 12/12/11

December 12, 2011

So we’re on the run down to Christmas and at the moment I dont feel in anyway Christmassy. Now that doesn’t mean i’m all bah humbug its just i’ve had so much to think about that crimbo has crept up on me this year. This year its an exciting one though, as its the first i’ll be spending with Em. I’m off to spend it with her and her family. It’ll be a different experience spending it with her nices and nephews (read: exhausting!) but i’m looking forward to it. Then its back to Glos boxing day to spend it with my parents.

The main aims this year are to avoid getting fat! It’ll be a challenge but i’ve been up to all the others so far i’m sure i can survive this one! What do I want for Christmas? thats easy a job! Oh and a good time with mates and family. The rest is an added bonus.

Right lets get to it…

The Bike

So not been out on the bike since the accident. A combo of interview prep and bad weather. I have planned two rides for this week though and champing at the bit to get out on the bike! ITs funny how now when ever i’m driving down a road, my mind automatically thinks ‘this would be a fun road to cycle!’

Fundraising

So we’ve now set up a just giving page specifically for the 24 hour match and it can be found at:

http://www.justgiving.com/shedweb24hoursofrugby

If you can sponsor this great event then please do.

We’ve so much to prepare for this event and i’m so so grateful for all the offers of help i’ve recieved so far, it means a lot and is very humbling.If anyone is interested in helping out or finding out more, then they can do by messaging me.

Fundraising continues in other areas too and i’m more confident than ever of reaching my £3500 target so i can go on the ride.

Home:

So my interview went well on Friday, i feel its the best one i’ve done yet. I felt confident, answered clearly and did my best. I can do no more than that. I find out later in the week, i’m trying not to dwell on it to much and focus on all the stuff i have to do. Its in my nature to worry every now and then, but i put this to the back of my mind. Whats done i done now and I have no more impact on the outcome, they’ll decide what they decide so why worry about it.

In the mean time I have another interview tomorrow so hopefully i’ll give my all in that one too. It’s a bit different to my past roles but still a good opportunity to go and test myself so fingers crossed.

Rest of the week is spending a day at  mums, wrapping Ems pressies (if i have them at the flat she’ll hunt them out!). Then mum is coming to visit the flat wed and the rest of the week its training hard i hope!

I spend sunday cooking and cleaning, and i really enjoyed being a domestic Goddess. I’m trying to be productive with my time out of work at the moment at it really helps. I think of all the energy I wasted feeling sorry for myself and it makes me cross! Since the phone call i’ve focused on being positive and it really helps.

Fitness

I’m still getting a bit of grief from the wrist but it does appear to be getting better. No change in my weight and this month is the real challenge; not over doing it at Christmas and undoing my hard work. It helps though having the ride in my head as the goal at all times, its getting nearer and nearer and i cannot afford to slip up now!

A friend is a fitness instructor and is hopefully going to work with me to really up my game. It’ll probably kill me in the short term but in the long term if it helps it’ll be worth it. Remember pain is temporary, quitting lasts forever (god I sound such an arse!)

Rugby

So another game another defeat. And again it was down to a last minute try! But that was one of the best games I’ve played in. It was end to end, we defended like demons at times. And everyone ran themselves into the ground. Yes we probably should have one, but credit to Tweksbury, it takes two sides to play a game of rugby and they played some great rugby of their own and never gave up. They had as much right to win as we did.

Yes we made some mistakes, but we’re a local side we are not perfect. All we need is a bit of composure. The team spirit in the side is amazing, and i couldn’t play rugby with a better bunch of blokes. I love all of them.

For my part it wasn’t one of my better games. I had a couple of silly knock ons and missed a cruicial tackle that led to tweks winning try. I was so frustrated i could have cried, but what i love about rugby is you suck it up and give credit to the opposition they just wanted it that bit more. I ran myself into the ground again and so proud of my effort levels. I used to be lazy and hide behind the work of others, now I take responibility for my actions.

I’m buzzing for training to put the mistakes right and have one more crack at getting the w before the end of the year.

Other stuff:

So this week is my mate wills 30th birthday celebrations and i can’t wait. The git got me an oap kit for mine, featuring piles cream and denture gum so i need to get him back. We’re going out as the Simpsons and I need to get my arse in gear and sort a costume out.

Oh and if I get a job I have a big plan in the works, so cross your fingers I get it as i’ll have some epic news if i do! 🙂

Quotes:

This week quotes are some that i’ve found inspiring when i’ve been through tougher times, i’ve looked to these to gice me the motivation to get up and get through them:

The first is from a film called Miracle. I’m a sucker for cheesy sports movies, and this speech before the team goes out always has me ready to run through walls:

Great moments… are born from great opportunity. And that’s what you have here, tonight, boys. That’s what you’ve earned here tonight. One game. If we played ’em ten times, they might win nine. But not this game. Not tonight. Tonight, we skate with them. Tonight, we stay with them. And we shut them down because we can! Tonight, WE are the greatest hockey team in the world. You were born to be hockey players. Every one of you. And you were meant to be here tonight. This is your time. Their time is done. It’s over. I’m sick and tired of hearing about what a great hockey team the Soviets have. Screw ’em. This is your time. Now go out there and take it.

Herb Brooks: When you pull on that jersey, you represent yourself and your teammates. And the name on the front is a hell of alot more important than the one on the back! Get that through your head!

Patty Brooks: Herb, there’s no disgrace in losing to this team.
Herb Brooks: Yeah, I know.
Patty Brooks: The important thing is, you got this far.
Herb Brooks: The important thing?
[pause]
Herb Brooks: The important thing is that those twenty boys know in twenty years, they didn’t leave anything on the table. They played their hearts out. That’s the important thing.

The next one is what i look at when worried of what people think of me:

Dr. Cox: Clam up Newbie! I wanted you to think about yourself… And i mean really think! What are you good at? What do you suck at? And write it down. Not so I could read it, or anyone else could read it. But so you could read it! You see in the end Newbie, you don’t have to answer to me, or to Kelso, or even to your patients for Gods sake! The only one you have to answer to Newbie is you! There, you are evaluated. Now get out of here, because you truly make me so damn mad I might just hurt myself!

And the final one is what i think about when i decide how my days going to be:

There’s two types of rugby players lads; there’s honest one’s. and there’s the rest. The honest player gets up in the morning and looks himself in the mirror, sets his standard, sets his stall out, and says “I’m gonna get better,I’m gonna get better”. He doesn’t complain about the food or the referees or thses types of things. These are just peripheral things that weak players complain about, the dishonest player”. – Jim Telfer

Have a good one all,

Russ

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

