Skip to content

Update 19/09/11

September 19, 2011

Cycling:

Since last time: 89.99Km

Total: 794.38 KM

As you can see from the above I have found some time to get out on the bike but again not as much as I would have liked. However, hopefully now this will settle down into a routine and I will be able to get out on the bike a bit more. Next Sunday sees the next bike ride I have scheduled to do, an 85 Mile ride around Bristol:

As you can see from the profile there are a fair few hills in this bad boy! I feel very unprepared for this ride as not had much time to get out on the bike like I have for the others. However, I will as always give it my all and in some ways I feel much more relaxed about this one. I haven’t put any pressure on myself to chalk up a good time and I’ll just go out and enjoy it! I also am doing it with a friend this time so that should help too! The route sounds like it could be a good one so I’m looking forward to it. Hopefully I can get out on my bike a few times before it so I at least feel like I’ve done some training.

Fitness:

I’m very much in a holding pattern weight wise at the moment. I’m not doing as much exercise so I’ve not lost any weight of late. However, I feel so much fitter now, it’s unreal. It’s nice to actually feel like it’s all starting to make a difference. Hopefully once I settle into the new routine and the exercise increases this will start to kick on even more. Hopefully, all the rugby training will help me kick on, but I really do want to find some more time for cycling. When we move to Bristol I’m determined to do at least one day a week cycling into Weston for work. It would be about 23 miles each way so would be good practice for the ride.

Rugby:

So we had our first game of the season this weekend and I love it. It was so nice to be back playing. We lost 51-0 and learnt some valuable lessons. The first half we were never in the game and not switched on. The second half was much better and the effort was great. I felt we really were unlucky to not score. Credit to Minchinhampton who were a good side and really intense they never let up. I think we can really build on this game and hopefully have a good season. On a personal note I felt like I played ok, I was a bit rusty as it was the first game of the season but I have a lot to build upon from the game. It was nice to last the full 80 minutes and was proud to be captain in the second half. In the evening we had our world cup social night out, which was an excellent night out. I had a good time with really good friends and it was worth the evil hangover in the morning. I’m still aching from the game but as the season goes on you start to get used to the aches. I’m really looking forward to the next match already. I feel very lucky to have so many great friends in my life at the moment and it was nice to hang out together as a group, hopefully they won’t all forget us when we move. Sunday I played in what was a great game of touch which we lost by a point. It was comical how much everyone was suffering from the day/night before! I bent down to score a try and it took me a week to ground the ball I swear!

Fundrasing:

The total now stands at £585. And I’m pleased with how its developing. I’m really looking forward to the quiz night it’s starting to shape up nicely. We are hopefully going to put on a really fun evening and I’m hoping it’ll raise a good sum of money for Winston’s Wish. Hopefully we will also have some more news on a charity rugby match or two soon as well. If you want to donate as always its appreciated and you can do so at:

http://www.justgiving.com/russell-brookes

Work:

Job continues to really stretch and test me which I abosolutely love. I’m enjoying the challenges it presents and hopefully I’m doing a good job.

Misc:

* Em has a job! I’m so proud of her, her persistence has paid off. No one deserves it more than her. She has an interview for a job she wants even more so cross your fingers for her. Its been a tough time for her lately so the way she has come through all this has been awesome.

* As a result of this, flat hunting has now started in earnest.  It’s going to be stressful, and tiring I’m sure, but we cannot wait to live together!

* As I was sitting here writing this I was thinking, for a Monday, today was going well, so naturally some bad news came in; the flat me and Em really, really wanted has been taken.

* Had a bit of a spat with someone on facebook who has removed me as a friend over my fundraising. Its pretty sad and hurt a bit. They are one of my oldest and closest friends too. Makes me wonder if I’m trying too hard with the charity push, I don’t want to alienate people. Hopefully they’ll realise I’m sorry and it was never my intention to cause grief with it.

* Its taking a lot of adjustment to all the change in my life at the moment. Its all for the good, but that doesn’t mean I don’t stop and feel it all get on top of me from time to time and worry about what I am leaving behind. I know it is the right thing to do though and don’t regret any of it.

* Ed Sheeran’s new album is pretty good and worth checking out.

Todays quote:

The vision of a champion is someone who is bent over, drenched in sweat, at the point of exhaustion when no one else is watching.

Friendship… is not something you learn in school. But if you haven’t learned the meaning of friendship, you really haven’t learned anything.

Quotes:
The vision of a champion is someone who is bent over, drenched in sweat, at the point of exhaustion when no one else is watching
Friendship… is not something you learn in school. But if you haven’t learned the meaning of friendship, you really haven’t learned anything.
Our character is what we do when we think no one is looking.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

